How to Review Applicants
How to Review Applicants
When you're ready to review applicants, go to the Needs Review tab to view your applicant pool. Team Engine screens and ranks all your applicants so the first one you see will be the strongest applicant when run against our automatic scoring. If you are curious about how we screen and rank your candidates, read our article on Automated Applicant Screening. On the Needs Review tab, you can see all of the most important information about an applicant, from work history to their expected salary. Once you have made a decision on a candidate, you can either reject them or mark them as someone you are interested in by clicking the icons in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
There are three things that can happen to an application: it can be marked as interested and end up in the hiring pipeline on the In Progress tab, or get marked as Archived or Rejected, which takes it out of the hiring flow, and into two separate lists of old applicants. You can always go back to see all archived and rejected applicants by going to the right-hand side of the in-progress tab.
After a certain amount of time of inactivity from both applicant and employer, applicants will be auto-archived.
- Applicants in the "Needs Review" section will be automatically archived after 28 days of inactivity.
- Applicants in any other stage of the hiring process will be automatically archived after 14 days of inactivity.
Along the top of the page, you can see how many applicants there are to review, how many individuals were automatically screened out, and on average the time, it has taken your team to review applications in the past 30 days. If you want to see the individuals that were automatically screened, click the Auto-Screened tab. In the first section of the candidate review, you can see the labels that have been assigned to a candidate, noting features like their responsiveness. Just below those is work history and educational history as you scroll down the page. Team Engine automatically asks candidates questions that may impact hirings, like their licenses, experience, or commute distance, and records it at the bottom of the page. Most of these review sections can be set up to automatically screen-out applicants that won't fit your jobs, make sure to read the article on automation to learn how to set it up.
You may need a second set of eyes to decide on an applicant - to do so, click the icon "share" below the applicant's name to send their application to another user or member of your organization. Also, you can send a quick message to the applicant by clicking on the icon "message".